Bosch PSB 1800 LI-2 Cordless Combi Drill Review

We really hope that you love the products that we recommend. Just so you know, ToolsReview may collect a share of sales or be compensated through the links on this page, but we think it’s a fair trade for the long hours of research that we put in.

Bosch PSB 1800 Li-2 Combi Drill Review

Quick Summary: The Bosch PSB 1800 is a fantastic all-round drill, it comes with two batteries, a charger, and a case. It is designed for the DIY enthusiast and is one of the best selling drills of the moment! It makes light work of drilling and is a great screwdriver too.

This drill still proves to be one of Bosch’s best entry level combi drills, but Bosch has also released the Universal Impact Driver, which on first glance sounds like an impact driver. In fact it is more of a hammer drill but with impact driver features on the side. If you are after a dedicated impact driver there are certainly better offerings, but this might set to be a likely replacement for the Bosch PSB 1800 a few years down the road.

The Bosch PSB 1800 comes with 2x 1.5Ah Lithium-ION batteries and a charger capable of recharging them within an hour. You would be hard pushed to be completing a task that didn’t allow for you to work continuously rotating the batteries as they need charging with this Bosch Combi Drill.

This drill won our award for best combi drill of 2020 in our Combi Drill Review and you can see why, with its keyless chuck, two-speed gearbox and 20 pre-selectable torque settings it has some of the features of much higher priced models. Add to that it’s two batteries, charger and case that all ship with the Bosch PSB 1800 and you have a great product for a great price.

Does it make an impact?

The PSB 1800 from Bosch is great for a variety of tasks. It has 39Nm of torque which we agree is a bit short of what is offered by its impact driver twin.

Bosch Home and Garden Cordless Combi Drill PSB 1800 LI-2 (2 x 18 volt batteries, 20 torque settings, drill and impact function, in carrying case)
  • Packaging may vary!
  • Optimum power for every task 3-in-1 system that can be used for screwdriving, drilling and impact drilling. It also features 20 torque settings for screwdriving in different materials
  • Suitable for different materials For drilling and screwdriving in wood and metal or impact drilling in masonry, Drilling in metal 2.5 m/s²
  • Easy screw and drill bit changes The cordless combi drill features a 10 mm shank and a single-sleeve drill chuck
  • Power for ALL 18 V The battery supplied is compatible with all tools within the green Bosch Home & Garden 18 volt system

Last update on 2024-04-24 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

We did an article on The Best Impact Drivers of 2021 should you want to find out more about its counterpart the Bosch Professional GDR impact driver. However, it provides enough torque to drive most fixings in.

Combine this with its drilling and impact drilling functionality and it is a great all-round combi drill. Drills do require the ability to be able to drive fixings from time to time and it is personal preference on whether or not you prefer an impact driver for the job. This PSB 1800 combi drill from Bosch has the option should you require it.

We personally like the shape and size of the drill. Bosch has made a nicely designed drill that allows you to work in confined spaces, whilst providing something that is comfortable to use, hold and grip in their PSB 1800 LI 2.

Bosch PSB 1800 Li-2 Combi Drill Set
Bosch Home and Garden Cordless Combi Drill PSB 1800 LI-2 (2 x 18 volt batteries, 20 torque settings, drill and impact function, in carrying case)
Bosch Home and Garden Cordless Combi Drill PSB 1800 LI-2 (2 x 18 volt batteries, 20 torque settings, drill and impact function, in carrying case)
Packaging may vary!; Scope of supply PSB 1800 LI-2, 2 batteries, charger, screwdriver bit, case
£Check Amazon Prime

Last update on 2024-04-24 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Bosch PSB 1800 – Vital Statistics

The Bosch weighs in at around 1.2Kg with a battery attached. This makes the PSB 1800 an incredibly light-weight option as a combi drill and will allow you to drill for longer. Included in the package:

  • Bosch PSB 1800 Li-2 Cordless Hammer Drill
  • Fast charger (1 hour charge time)
  • 2x 1.5Ah batteries
  • Screwdriver Bit
  • A blow molded plastic carry case
  • Instruction manual

We have reviewed combi drills from Makita, Bosch, DeWalt and many more. We wouldn’t say that the Bosch PSB 1800 is the best drill we have ever reviewed.

It lacks power and battery capacity compared with some of the competition. We would, however, say it makes for a very well rounded product with a great price to match.

As always with Bosch the warranty that comes with the product is 2 years which once activated online becomes 3 years, this really does finish the product off nicely.

Bosch PSB 1800 Accessory Set

Bosch does a very handy 91 piece bit and screwdriver set as part of this range. It is well worth checking out if you are purchasing a combi drill for the first time and don’t yet have any drill bits.

It is less than half the price of the drill and features a ratchet screwdriver, all the bits you could need, plus 11x masonry, 11x metal and 8x wood drill bits to get you going.

Sale
Bosch 91 pcs. Titanium Drill and Screwdriver Bit Set V-Line (for Wood, Masonry and Metal, Including Ratchet Screwdriver and Magnetic Rod, Accessories Drills and Screwdrivers)
  • V-Line drill and bit set suitable for drilling and fastening tasks in wood, stone and metal.
  • 11 metal drill bits Ø 2-8 mm (for metal, plexiglass and hard plastics). 11 masonry drill bits Ø 3-10 mm (for masonry, limestone, natural and artificial stone). 8 wood drill bits Ø 3-10 mm (for hardwood, softwood and plastic).
  • 15 screwdriver bits L = 50 mm (PH 0/1/2/3, PZ 0/1/2/3, S 6, T 10/15/20/25, H 5/6), 34 screwdriver bits L = 25 mm (PH 0/0/1/2/2/3/3, PZ 0/0/1/1/2/3/3, S 3/5/7, T 10/10/15/15/20/20/25/25/30/40, H 4/5/5/6), 8 sockets Ø- 6/7/7/8/9/10/11/12/13 mm, 1 universal holder, 1 countersink, 1 ratchet screwdriver, 1 magnetic rod.
  • For all handheld and stationary drills. Practical Bosch V-Line case with a clear arrangement of the contents.
  • Dimensions: 320 x 60 x 225

Last update on 2024-04-24 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

What we like!

  • 20 different torque settings, something for every situation and power requirement.
  • The Bosch Autolock keyless chuck makes changing of bits so simple.
  • Integrated work light, by comparison to Makita’s built-in light. This one stays on and comes on ready for you to line up your screw before you start fastening it in place.
  • Supports the same batteries as the rest of the Bosch range, offering to swap batteries about with other tools in the range.

Bosch PSB 1800 Bundle offer!

Amazon has a special offer on right now where you can get the Bosch PSB 1800 LI2 with two batteries and a Bosch 50 piece accessory kit.

The link below will take you straight to the exclusive offer and get you the latest price.

Sale
Bosch PSB 1800 LI-2 Cordless Hammer Drill Driver with 2x 18V Batteries and 50-Piece Accessory Set
  • Lithium-Ion battery technology
  • Two speed gearbox
  • 20 pre-selectable torque, drill and impact drill settings
  • Keyless chuck and soft grip
  • Includes two 18 V batteries

Last update on 2024-04-24 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Need More Power?

The PSB 1800 is a fantastic combi drill for general home use but if you need a little more power then you should consider the Bosch PSB 18 LI-2.

The PSB 18 LI-2 has all the great features of the PSB 1800 with the following inprovements:

  • Screw diameter up to 10mm (8mm on PSB 1800)
  • Drilling diameter in wood up to 35mm (20mm on PSB 1800)
  • Drilling diameter in steel up to 13mm (10mm on PSB 1800)
  • True 18v Power

We’ve previously reviewed the ergonomic version of the PSB 18 LI-2 here

Bosch Cordless Combi Drill PSB 18 LI-2 (Without Battery, 18 Volt System, Screw Diameter: 10 mm, in Carton Packaging)
  • Compact, ergonomic design thanks to brushless motor technology
  • Perfect control over the tool thanks to innovative “KickBack Control” technology – detects sudden jamming and shuts down the tool
  • Syneon Chip – Intelligently controlled energy for every project
  • 20 torque settings, drill setting, 2 gears with innovative forward/reverse switch for drilling/screwdriving, impact function can be switched on separately
  • One battery fits all – suitable for all DIY and garden tools in the Power for ALL lithium-ion cordless systems

Last update on 2024-04-24 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Other Alternatives to the PSB1800

If you are looking for other alternatives to the PSB1800 we’ve selected some other makes and models you might want to consider:

Bosch Cordless Combi Drill UniversalImpact 18 (2x Batteries, 18 Volt System, in Carrying Case)
Ryobi R18PD3-215GZ 18 V ONE+ Cordless Combi Drill Starter Kit (2 x 1.5 Ah), Hyper Green
Black & Decker BDCDC18KB-QW BDCDC18KB-QW-Taladro Atornillador 18V con 2 baterías 1,5Ah y maletín, 18 V, Set of 5 Pieces
Bosch Cordless Combi Drill UniversalImpact 18 (2x Batteries, 18 Volt System, in Carrying Case)
Ryobi R18PD3-215GZ 18 V ONE+ Cordless Combi Drill Starter Kit (2 x 1.5 Ah), Hyper Green
Black & Decker BDCDC18KB-QW BDCDC18KB-QW-Taladro Atornillador 18V con 2 baterías 1,5Ah y maletín, 18 V, Set of 5 Pieces
Torque Settings
20
24
10
Max Torque (Nm)
30
50
30
Drill Chuck (mm)
10
13
10
Included Batteries
2 x 1.5Ah
2 x 1.5Ah
2 x 1.5Ah
Ratings
-
-
-
Reviews
-
-
-
Price
£Check
£Check
£Check
Bosch Cordless Combi Drill UniversalImpact 18 (2x Batteries, 18 Volt System, in Carrying Case)
Bosch Cordless Combi Drill UniversalImpact 18 (2x Batteries, 18 Volt System, in Carrying Case)
Torque Settings
20
Max Torque (Nm)
30
Drill Chuck (mm)
10
Included Batteries
2 x 1.5Ah
Ratings
-
Reviews
-
Price
£Check
Read Reviews & Buy Now
Ryobi R18PD3-215GZ 18 V ONE+ Cordless Combi Drill Starter Kit (2 x 1.5 Ah), Hyper Green
Ryobi R18PD3-215GZ 18 V ONE+ Cordless Combi Drill Starter Kit (2 x 1.5 Ah), Hyper Green
Torque Settings
24
Max Torque (Nm)
50
Drill Chuck (mm)
13
Included Batteries
2 x 1.5Ah
Ratings
-
Reviews
-
Price
£Check
Read Reviews & Buy Now
Black & Decker BDCDC18KB-QW BDCDC18KB-QW-Taladro Atornillador 18V con 2 baterías 1,5Ah y maletín, 18 V, Set of 5 Pieces
Black & Decker BDCDC18KB-QW BDCDC18KB-QW-Taladro Atornillador 18V con 2 baterías 1,5Ah y maletín, 18 V, Set of 5 Pieces
Torque Settings
10
Max Torque (Nm)
30
Drill Chuck (mm)
10
Included Batteries
2 x 1.5Ah
Ratings
-
Reviews
-
Price
£Check
Read Reviews & Buy Now

Last update on 2024-04-24 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

In Summary

Bosch PSB 1800 LI-2 Cordless Combi Drill
  • Performance
  • Features
  • Ergonomics
  • Value
4.1

Summary

The Bosch PSB 1800 Combi Drill is a well-specified drill from Bosch that delivers in many categories, including price and warranty!

Pros

  • Multiple torque settings
  • Keyless chuck
  • Integrated worklight
  • Interchangeable batteries

Cons

  • Could be more robust
About Thomas Paxton 368 Articles
Hey there, I'm Thomas Paxton, your Tool Guru with a Twist! I've been knee-deep in the world of tools since I was a little tinkerer in my dad's shed. Now, I'm running my own website where I share my passion for tools and gardening products through buyers guides and insightful tips. I've got the knowledge and experience to break down complex concepts into simple, easy-to-understand language. I purchased Tools Review from Mike Jones at the start of 2023, he has done a sterling job of building the site and I hope I can continue in his success! When I'm not writing guides, you'll find me in my garden or garage, putting my skills to work and pushing the boundaries of creativity. So, whether you're a pro or just starting out, join me on this adventure, and let's conquer DIY projects together!

2 Comments

  1. I just recently bought a Bosch PSB Combi Drill and I am trying to register it for the 3 year guarantee. Can anyone tell me where (if anywhere) is the E nr to be found on one of this? Without it you just can’t register the tool and the nr is nowhere to be seen…fishy

    • Hi, the serial number is usually displayed on the box that the drill came in. Did you buy the drill brand new? If not I would contact Bosch customer care, they are very good and will help you find it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.