Best Cordless Jigsaw – Our Top 3 Review

We really hope that you love the products that we recommend. Just so you know, ToolsReview may collect a share of sales or be compensated through the links on this page, but we think it’s a fair trade for the long hours of research that we put in.

Best Cordless Jigsaw

If you are needing to make continuous cuts through a variety of different materials then without a doubt the best tool for the job is a jigsaw cutter. They will allow you to make precise, professional grade cuts easily and effectively. In this article, we have only included cordless jigsaw cutters, as we just find them to be so much more reliable as you can literally take them anywhere with you! This makes them perfect for if you are fitting flooring, working on a kitchen, or basically any job where you are needing to cut straight or curved lines!

There are lots of factors to consider when looking for a cordless jigsaw – such as the power and battery life – so we have compared all of this below so that you don’t have to!

Cordless Jigsaws

Cordless jigsaws also tend to be less powerful than their corded counterparts. This is especially true when their batteries are not fully charged.

Benefits of a Cordless Jigsaw

  1. The absence of a cord makes it safer than a corded jigsaw
  2. It doesn’t require a power outlet to work
  3. Easy to handle and store

Disadvantages of a Cordless Jigsaw

  1. Tends to be less powerful than a corded jigsaw
  2. More expensive than a corded jigsaw
  3. Will need to be charged regularly

For this review, we selected a highly-rated cordless jigsaw for each price range. We have provided you with a budget buy, a high-end buy and moderately priced value buy. All three of these cordless jigsaws are high quality and have been selected according to their performance, features and price.

Comparison of our favourite Cordless Jigsaws

Bosch Home and Garden Jigsaw PST 700 E (500 W, 1x saw blade, in carrying case)
DeWalt 18 V XR Lithium-Ion Body Only Jigsaw Yellow/Black
Makita DJV182Z 18V Li-Ion LXT Brushless Jigsaw - Batteries and Charger Not Included
Bosch Home and Garden Jigsaw PST 700 E (500 W, 1x saw blade, in carrying case)
DeWalt 18 V XR Lithium-Ion Body Only Jigsaw Yellow/Black
Makita DJV182Z 18V Li-Ion LXT Brushless Jigsaw - Batteries and Charger Not Included
Weight (Kg)
1.7
2.4
2.4
Cutting Depth - Wood (mm)
70
135
135
Cutting Depth - Steel (mm)
4
10
10
Max Power Output (W)
300
400
390
Stroke Rate Per Min (No Load)
500 to 3100
0 to 3000
800 to 3500
Rating
Reviews
8,084 Reviews
1,096 Reviews
2,720 Reviews
Price
£62.57
£139.95
£177.00
Bosch Home and Garden Jigsaw PST 700 E (500 W, 1x saw blade, in carrying case)
Bosch Home and Garden Jigsaw PST 700 E (500 W, 1x saw blade, in carrying case)
Weight (Kg)
1.7
Cutting Depth - Wood (mm)
70
Cutting Depth - Steel (mm)
4
Max Power Output (W)
300
Stroke Rate Per Min (No Load)
500 to 3100
Rating
Reviews
8,084 Reviews
Price
£62.57
Read Reviews & Buy Now
DeWalt 18 V XR Lithium-Ion Body Only Jigsaw Yellow/Black
DeWalt 18 V XR Lithium-Ion Body Only Jigsaw Yellow/Black
Weight (Kg)
2.4
Cutting Depth - Wood (mm)
135
Cutting Depth - Steel (mm)
10
Max Power Output (W)
400
Stroke Rate Per Min (No Load)
0 to 3000
Rating
Reviews
1,096 Reviews
Price
£139.95
Read Reviews & Buy Now
Makita DJV182Z 18V Li-Ion LXT Brushless Jigsaw - Batteries and Charger Not Included
Makita DJV182Z 18V Li-Ion LXT Brushless Jigsaw - Batteries and Charger Not Included
Weight (Kg)
2.4
Cutting Depth - Wood (mm)
135
Cutting Depth - Steel (mm)
10
Max Power Output (W)
390
Stroke Rate Per Min (No Load)
800 to 3500
Rating
Reviews
2,720 Reviews
Price
£177.00
Read Reviews & Buy Now

Last update on 2024-07-13 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Best Budget Cordless Jigsaw

Sale
Bosch Home and Garden Jigsaw PST 700 E (500 W, 1x saw blade, in carrying case)
8,084 Reviews
Bosch Home and Garden Jigsaw PST 700 E (500 W, 1x saw blade, in carrying case)
  • Bosch Electronic jigsaw blade for continuous cutting progress and variable speeds
  • Minimal vibration allows for controlled, convenient work
  • Light weight and compact size provide easy handling
  • Cuts up to 70 mm from 45-90 degree angles in many materials
  • SDS enables quick and easy keyless saw blade changes for efficient work

Last update on 2024-07-13 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Weighing in at a meagre 1.7 kilograms, this compact cordless jigsaw is highly convenient. Not only can you carry it around easily, but it also comes with a switchable air blast feature that gives you the option of connecting it to a vacuum cleaner. This function ensures that dust is blown away as you saw allowing for a clear view of the cutting line. This leads to more precise cuts.

The Bosch PST 700 E comes with a saw blade, an instruction manual and a plastic carrying case. With this purchase, you get a lot for a very low price

Bosch PST 700 E

Benefits of the Bosch PST 700 E

  • Tool-less blade change due to Bosch SDS
  • Minimum vibration because of Bosch Low Vibration technology
  • Electronic speed control dial
  • Adjustable footplate

Disadvantages of the Bosch PST 700 E

  • Comes with only one blade
  • It can be difficult to remove the blade
  • Would be better if it came with a dust bag

Manufacturers Specs

  • Weight: 1.7 kilograms
  • Measurements: 29 × 33.5 × 10 cm
  • Power input: 500 watts
  • Power output: 300 watts
  • Cutting depth in wood: 70 mm
  • Cutting depth in steel: 4 mm
  • Stroke rate at no load: 500 to 3,100 rpm
  • Sole plate: Steel
  • Battery chemistry: Li-ion

Gallery

Sale
Bosch Home and Garden Jigsaw PST 700 E (500 W, 1x saw blade, in carrying case)
Bosch Home and Garden Jigsaw PST 700 E (500 W, 1x saw blade, in carrying case)
Bosch Electronic jigsaw blade for continuous cutting progress and variable speeds; Minimal vibration allows for controlled, convenient work
£73.00 −14% £62.57 Amazon Prime

Last update on 2024-07-13 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Rating

The Bosch PST 700 E is perfect for a DIY enthusiast looking for something light and easy-to-use for their projects. It has what it takes to make complicated design cuts with the utmost precision.

———

Best Value Cordless Jigsaw

DeWalt 18 V XR Lithium-Ion Body Only Jigsaw Yellow/Black
1,096 Reviews
DeWalt 18 V XR Lithium-Ion Body Only Jigsaw Yellow/Black
  • Powerful & Highly efficient Dewalt PM47 fan-cooled motor with replaceable brushes
  • Intelligent variable speed trigger & lock-off switch for quick controlled cuts and enhanced work safety
  • Tool-free adjustable shoe with anti-scratch cover bevels 45 in both directions
  • Quick and easy patented keyless blade change system, accepts T-shank blades (Note The blade is not included and is sold separately)
  • Patented anti-vibration counter-balance mechanism and rubber grip providing a smooth operation

Last update on 2024-07-13 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

The DeWalt 18V XR boasts of a powerful motor that is fan-cooled and features replaceable brushes. However, what we appreciate most about this cordless jigsaw is its ability to control how smooth a cut is by the use of its 3-position pendulum action.

Although this DeWalt cordless jigsaw isn’t the cheapest one available, it is definitely worth the extra cash. It is equipped with a host of helpful features such as a keyless blade change system, a dust blower, a dust port, and an anti-scratch shoe cover. Unfortunately, it comes with neither a battery nor a charger.

DeWalt 18V XR Lithium-Ion Body Only Jigsaw

Benefits of the DeWalt 18V XR

  • Variable speed trigger
  • Anti-vibration counter-balance mechanism
  • Rubber coated grip
  • Easy bevel adjustments

Disadvantages of the DeWalt 18V XR

  • You will have to buy blades, a battery and a charger separately

Manufacturers Specs

  • Weight: 2.4 kilograms
  • Length: 305 mm
  • Height: 215 mm
  • Power output: 400 watts
  • Voltage: 18 volts
  • No load stroke rate: 0 to 3,000 rpm
  • Bevel capacity: 45 degrees
  • Maximum cutting depth in wood: 135 mm
  • Maximum cutting depth in metal: 10 mm
  • Battery chemistry: XR Li-ion

Gallery

DeWalt 18 V XR Lithium-Ion Body Only Jigsaw Yellow/Black
DeWalt 18 V XR Lithium-Ion Body Only Jigsaw Yellow/Black
Powerful & Highly efficient Dewalt PM47 fan-cooled motor with replaceable brushes; Tool-free adjustable shoe with anti-scratch cover bevels 45 in both directions
£139.95

Last update on 2024-07-13 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Rating

When it comes to the DeWalt 18V XR, there is very little to complain about. With its high performance, impressive features and reasonable price, it is clear that this DeWalt cordless jigsaw offers you good value for your money.

———

Best Performing Cordless Jigsaw

Makita DJV182Z 18V Li-Ion LXT Brushless Jigsaw - Batteries and Charger Not Included
2,720 Reviews
Makita DJV182Z 18V Li-Ion LXT Brushless Jigsaw - Batteries and Charger Not Included
  • Brushless motor
  • Tool-less blade change
  • Trigger switch with lock On button
  • Shank universal
  • Twin LED job light

Last update on 2024-07-13 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

The Makita DJV182Z is quite an expensive piece of equipment and with good cause. The extensive features and equipment that come with it make it stand out. Here some of its unique features.

  • Brushless motor that produces a great amount of torque per unit weight. This translates to a longer battery life and less motor friction
  • Twin LED job light that allows you to clearly see the cutting line even in the dark
  • The heavy-duty aluminium base for added stability. It bevels to up to 45 degrees to the left or right
  • Soft no load feature that automatically reduces the speed of the motor when idle to reduce vibration of the jigsaw
  • Blade clamp for easy attachment and removal of blades
  • Rubberized handle with anti-slip dimples

When you order this cordless jigsaw, the following pieces of equipment ship with it.

  • A cover plate to protect the workplace from scratches
  • A dust nozzle to attach the cordless jigsaw to a vacuum cleaner
  • An anti-splintering device to reduce splintering along the cutting line
  • A 3-year warranty if you register with Makita within 30 days from purchase
  • A Hex wrench
Makita DJV182Z

Benefits of the Makita DJV182Z

  • Tool-less blade change
  • Variable speed control trigger with lock-on button
  • Soft start feature
  • Blower function to clear all dust from the cutting line

Disadvantages of the Makita DJV182Z

  • Expensive
  • Takes too long to start up
  • You will have to buy blades, a battery and a charger separately

Manufacturers Specs

  • Weight: 2.4 kilograms
  • Measurements: 26.6 × 7.7 × 20.8 cm
  • Maximum power output: 390 watts
  • Voltage: 18 volts
  • Strokes per minute: 800 to 3,500 rpm
  • Stroke length: 26 mm
  • Maximum cutting depth in wood: 135 mm
  • The Maximum cutting depth in steel: 10 mm
  • Maximum cutting depth in aluminium: 20 mm
  • Battery chemistry: Li-ion

Gallery

Makita DJV182Z 18V Li-Ion LXT Brushless Jigsaw - Batteries and Charger Not Included
Makita DJV182Z 18V Li-Ion LXT Brushless Jigsaw - Batteries and Charger Not Included
Brushless motor; Tool-less blade change; Trigger switch with lock On button; Shank universal
£177.00

Last update on 2024-07-13 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Rating

While most professionals find the soft start feature of this Makita cordless jigsaw frustrating, the average DIY enthusiast will appreciate it. Ultimately, the Makita DJV182Z is perfect for carrying out projects around the house.

—————

Best Cordless Jigsaw (Overall Winner)

The DeWalt 18V XR Jigsaw

While the Makita DJV182Z has a few more features than the DeWalt 18V XR, it is not better than it. The maximum power outputs of these cordless jigsaws are almost identical while their cutting depths in wood and steel actually are.

Even their weights and stroke rates are almost identical. It is almost like the Makita DJV182Z is just a more expensive and feature-packed version of the DeWalt 18V XR. As such, it is better to buy the DeWalt cordless jigsaw as it gives you a lot of value for less money.

On the other hand, the Bosch PST 700 E   doesn’t hold a candle to the other two featured cordless jigsaws. Although it is also high-quality, it lacks a lot of the important features and capabilities that the other two have.

Moreover, it produces less power and has much less cutting capacity in both wood and steel.

DeWalt 18V XR Lithium-Ion Body Only Jigsaw
DeWalt 18 V XR Lithium-Ion Body Only Jigsaw Yellow/Black
1,096 Reviews
DeWalt 18 V XR Lithium-Ion Body Only Jigsaw Yellow/Black
  • Powerful & Highly efficient Dewalt PM47 fan-cooled motor with replaceable brushes
  • Intelligent variable speed trigger & lock-off switch for quick controlled cuts and enhanced work safety
  • Tool-free adjustable shoe with anti-scratch cover bevels 45 in both directions
  • Quick and easy patented keyless blade change system, accepts T-shank blades (Note The blade is not included and is sold separately)
  • Patented anti-vibration counter-balance mechanism and rubber grip providing a smooth operation

Last update on 2024-07-13 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

The Bottom Line

Ultimately, anyone undertaking a project that requires repetitive accurate cuts will need a jigsaw, especially a cordless one. Although picking the right one can be a hassle, investing in a cordless jigsaw is a decision you will never regret.

With the help of our review, we hope your selection process will be a little easier. All the cordless jigsaws featured in this review have high-performance levels and come with a bunch of helpful features. No matter which one you pick, you won’t be disappointed.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the difference between a standard jigsaw and an orbital jigsaw?

A standard jigsaw is designed to move the blade up and down as you work. This creates the mini sawing action to allow you to cut through the different materials that you are working with. An orbital jigsaw works slightly differently to this – it moves slightly forward in the upwards stroke and then back again in the downwards stroke so that it is almost pushing through the material.

What is the average warranty with a cordless jigsaw?

The average warranty with a cordless jigsaw is going to be between two and three years. We found that most will offer the three year warranty but this is normally a limited warranty and won’t always include the battery so this is definitely worth checking for!

  • Performance
  • Features
  • Ergonomics
  • Value
About Thomas Paxton 368 Articles
Hey there, I'm Thomas Paxton, your Tool Guru with a Twist! I've been knee-deep in the world of tools since I was a little tinkerer in my dad's shed. Now, I'm running my own website where I share my passion for tools and gardening products through buyers guides and insightful tips. I've got the knowledge and experience to break down complex concepts into simple, easy-to-understand language. I purchased Tools Review from Mike Jones at the start of 2023, he has done a sterling job of building the site and I hope I can continue in his success! When I'm not writing guides, you'll find me in my garden or garage, putting my skills to work and pushing the boundaries of creativity. So, whether you're a pro or just starting out, join me on this adventure, and let's conquer DIY projects together!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.